Merry Christmas and Gift Cards!

Image is not my own.

Hey everyone, Merry Christmas! How’s your Christmas going? By this time most of you have probably been stuffed full of food and are barely able to get out of your seats. Especially for those of us here in Barbados, the ham has been carved lovely and stacks upon stacks have reached our plates and filled our stomaches :). Makes me happy to think about ham.

Christmas is a time of stress and craziness but amidst all the Christmas rush and madness, we have to remember the reason for the season, which is Jesus Christ and His coming. So I hope you all remembered Him this year, because without Him, there would be no need for  gifts, or carols, no new curtains or even our beloved ham.



I’ve been a grouch most of this weekend because Christmas always seems to stress out my family so much. It always makes me wonder why we don’t fix our houses all year round, or start on our cleaning earlier, or do our shopping early or what have you. We always wait until last minute to do it. We wait until December comes around to be nice and to act like we care, but why like that famous song says “why can’t this Christmas feeling go on, why can’t we learn to live together?” Why is it that people can only be nice all year round?

I’m not the nicest, sweetest person all the time, but I like to stay consistent with the way I act, because honestly, it feels like you’re putting on a show by being all Holly Jolly this one time of year. I hope most of you are staying happy or at least content all year-round and not only at Christmas because you think it’s the right thing to do. It’s much better to be happy all year than to fake happiness because all this music is playing and there’s a chill in the air. (I may sound like the Grinch, but you do know how sometimes people change just for the weather. )

For all of you out there like me who are a bit tired of the Christmas songs and the fake cheer, make your own cheer and try to be happy the entire year. I’ve had way to many arguments already for this joyous season that could have been avoided, so I’m just going to stay content and let some of the comments of others roll off my back. Way too much stress is related to Christmas nowadays without considering the real reason for the Holiday.

Finally, I’d like to finish off my Holiday gift ideas posts with these 2 last minute gift  ideas.

  1. Gift Cards: They come for basically any store and seem a bit more thoughtful than just money sometimes because they can choose something from one of their favourite stores. Though money’s still a great gift because that person may need it a lot more than you’d think.
  2. Treat Certificates: A cute little thing couples can exchanges are handmade certificates for “treats” of sorts. “Unlimited Free Hugs”, “1 Neck Massage”, “3 Smooches” or anything you want to put on them. SO when you’re feeling  like you need that extra love you can always use your treat certificate. The best part is that it’s free! 🙂

Merry Christmas everyone! Hope everyone is relaxing and enjoying your holidays!

Leave a comment