Garnier Skin Renew BB Cream (Combination to Oily Skin) | Review

Hey all! I know, I know, I was to review this everrrrr since but I can say I’ve had the a load of time to try out this product and figure it out. I wanted to try one of the Garnier BB creams for some time in 2013, but had heard some bad reviews on the normal skin version of this one. Although my skin isn’t particularly oily, I tend to prefer products for combo/oily skin, because the heat of Barbados makes anyone’s skin “dewy” by midday.

I nabbed this product at Collins Pharmacy for $30.35BDS when I realised they finally had the Deep shade in stock. Since using it, I feel like I could go one shade lighter, but this works for every day as it blands in with my neck very well. The product is in a squeeze tube and there is 2oz of the liquid,  which is great considering the price of it. Typically foundations are just 1oz.

Despite being very runny and liquid, the formula gives light to medium coverage, and a little it can go a long way. I tend to squeeze out less than a dime-sized amount of BB cream to give my face a light coverage, even out my complexion. You can build up the coverage to medium, but it will begin to feel cakey and heavy unless you blot with some tissue between application. It dries to a semi matte (natural) finish which I tend to set with translucent powder so it would last longer throughout the day, as I hardly ever get to touch-up.

I love this as an everyday foundation/sunscreen/ skin care item. There is an SPF of 20, as well as is very moisturising. It doesn’t give me a grey cast either, especially since the undertone of the BB cream seems to be quite yellow.  This is a bit messy to apply at first, but it gets easier with practice. My only real peeves with this is that it isn’t very long-lasting or oil-controlling, so by 4 hours of wear you are going to start seeing some shininess, but not so bad that blotting can’t help. This product does tend to transfer when I touch my face with my fingers (bad habit…), or in the space where my glasses rest on my nose.

The Verdict:

Pros:

  • Affordable 
  • Lasts a number of uses (mine is pushing 3 months)
  • Light to medium coverage
  • Lightweight formula
  • Natural finish
  • Has SPF20 
  • No grey cast
  • Evens skin tone beautifully
  • Moisturizing and doesn’t stick to dry patches

Cons: 

  • Squeeze tube could be messy
  • Very liquid formula
  • Shade availbility
  • Not long-lasting
  • Not great at oil-control. 

The Raw Sugar

I just am in love with how lightweight this product is, yet has good enough coverage to discreetly make your skin look almost perfect. I’ve had mine since October 2013, and I’ve been using it almost religiously as part of my morning routine, yet the tube still has a ton of product in it. I definitely would recommend you try this out if you’re looking for a do-all product to rush out the house looking good.

Where you can get this: Collin’s Pharmacy (Barbados), drugstores (elsewhere)

Disclaimer: This product was bought with my own money. Opinions are my own

3 thoughts on “Garnier Skin Renew BB Cream (Combination to Oily Skin) | Review

Leave a comment